Venice: Dorsoduro and San Polo District Private Walking Tour
Product ID: 134115
On this tour, explore the peculiarities of the Dorsoduro and San Polo districts.
About this activity
Duration: 2 hours
Printed or mobile voucher accepted
Live tour guide
Spanish, English, French, German
Free cancellation up to 24 hours before activity starts
Select participants, date and language:
Explore the peculiarities of Dorsoduro and San Polo districts
Admire the beauty of quiet places in Venice
Stop for a café or a glass of wine
Walking guided tour to reach beautiful churches surrounded by typical Venetian atmospheres, along calli and little campos. In San Trovaso square there is an unusual wooden structure that is similar to the house of the local mountain area. This was an old dwelling for the workers of the squero, a small shipyard for making gondolas. It dates back to the 17th century and since then it has always been in operation. The walk continues to visit one of the oldest churches in Venice: San Nicolò dei Mendicoli. It was founded by “patavini” (inhabitants of Padua), who lived in the islands of the lagoon in the 7th century to escape the Lombard invasion. Campo Santa Margherita, a picturesque countryside surrounded by old 14th century palaces and the little church of Santa Margherita, which is today a university auditorium. Continue to San Rocco School located in the countryside bearing the same name. It was founded in 1478 as a charitable institution. The present building was started in 1489 and finished in the 16th. It is famous for a series of paintings by Tintoretto that adorn the rooms. Next to the school there is the church, which is also dedicated to San Rocco. Continue to Scuola Grande di S. Giovanni Evangelista (Confraternity): this confraternity was founded in 1307. The headquarters was built in the 15th century and in 1481 the Bottega dei Lombardi built the impressive gateway in Renaissance style. In 1512 Mauro Codusi rebuilt the great internal staircase. After the school was suppressed by the Napoleonic edicts of 1806 it was acquired by private individuals in 1856 and since then it is still a confraternity today. End of the tour: Campo San Tomà.
The tour takes 2 hours with the possibility of stopping for a café or a glass of wine.
Itinerary: San Trovaso, San Sebastiano, San Nicolò dei Mendicoli, Campo Santa Margherita, San Rocco, San Giovanni Evangelista, Campo San Tomà.
Private licensed guide
What’s Not Included
Not suitable for
People with mobility impairments
Prepare for the activity
Meet our guide in Campo della Carità, between the Accademia Gallery and the Accademia Bridge.